They don’t make maps for places like this…

20140423-165449.jpg

I’m stuck somewhere
between great rollings hills
and a sweet-calm sea,
the air doesn’t smell
of salt or dandelions.

Only this heavy
breeze that sticks
in my throat and fills
my lungs with the sharp tang
of musk and pine
reminds me that I’m
not far from home.

And,
in the distance there
is a rolling clamor;
a whistle crying long and low.
But there are no signs,
no landmarks.

Though I’ve wandered days
through this strange
beautiful world,
traipsing across smooth plains
and sharp plateaus, I’ve
never crossed the
same path twice…

One thought rings true in
this foreign land:
dear, don’t be alarmed
I only lose my bearings
so thoroughly,
only become so
inexplicably lost,
in you.

~ September Skies 2298

20140423-172503.jpg

One thought on “They don’t make maps for places like this…

Leave a Reply

